Mistakes happen to the best of us, right? As workflow experts, we know that the two main ways to minimize mistakes in workflows are to avoid them in the first place, and to quickly reverse them when they happen. Nintex has you covered on both.
Nintex Workflow Generator helps you minimize mistakes in the first place by ensuring processes are well-documented before the workflow is built. But for the cases when you need to roll back or simply track the history of a workflow, we’re introducing Nintex Workflow Cloud Version History.
Version History is relatively self-explanatory. It’s a history of all your workflow version events, whether Saved (minor), or Published (major). Version History gives you control over storing, tracking, and restoring your Nintex workflow cloud workflows. It also enforces auditing of changes using comments.
First, let’s tackle the small configuration setting required. Under Settings – Workflow Settings, there are two simple on/off options regarding whether to make comments compulsory for both a workflow “Save” event and a workflow “Publish” event.
Clicking “Save” on a workflow will display a prompt to enter Version Comments. Note, this popup will only display if you have turned on “Require version comments when saving a workflow” in Workflow versioning. Otherwise, the workflow will simply save and append the minor version number. When turned on, version comments are a required field before the designer can progress the Save.
On “Publish” of a workflow, a new version comments dialog box will appear in the regular publish configuration popup. Version comments will either be required or optional based on the option ticked in Workflow versioning settings. Publish event will append a major version to the version number.
Viewing Version History
The version history for a workflow can be viewed by clicking Version History in the Nintex Workflow Cloud design canvas toolbar.
From here, you’ll be able to view all the save and publish events for that particular workflow, date and time, the designer that created that version and any associated comments. There is also a toggle to view only published workflows (major versions).
Restore Previous Version
Clicking on a previous version in the above dialog box will take you to that configured version of the workflow. From here you can continue your build or save/publish to promote to the latest version.
Interested in learning more about Nintex Workflow Cloud? Sign up for a free demo today!